top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturebookishequestrian

Are They Worth the Heighest Rated Spot on Goodreads?

I had this idea for this mini-series of posts a while ago but I have never found space in the schedule for them to be able to be posted close together.


Today’s post is 5 highest rated books on Goodreads that I have read in reason, and whether I feel like they are worth the hype and love they have gotten. Disclaimer these are my opinions and I respect if you disagree with mine.


 

First up is Heartstopper: Volume Three by Alice Oseman 4.64 with 39127 ratings, I gave this book 3 stars.


I read the first two volumes back in 2019 and absolutely loved them. They were filled with warmth and I felt like they dealt with real-life issues in a realistic way. I then read this volume in 2020. I didn’t love this one nearly as much and I don’t think it had anything to do with this book. I feel like my taste in romance has changed over the year it took me to read all three.


Do I think it deserves the high ratings it gets, yes I do, I can tell why a whole lot of people loves this series and I definitely will be picking up the next volumes.


 

Second up is The Dying of the Light by Derek Landy 4.62 with 8,348 ratings and I gave this book 5 stars


This is the 9th book in the Skulduggery Pleasant series and the final book in the first series. I read this book for the first time last year. It took me ages to get the courage to pick it and I am so glad I did. This was my second favourite book of 2020 and I feel like that shows in everyone’s rating as to why. I can’t even describe how much and why I loved this book so much but for the fact everything was amazing. The writing, the plot, the atmosphere, the humour and the characters.


Yes, this book deserves high ratings.


 

Third, up is A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas 4.61 with 391735 ratings and I gave this book 4 stars

This is the second book in the ACOTAR series. This book did so many things well, dealing with trauma, coming to terms that the character is/was an abusive relationship, and accepting who the character is. I really enjoyed this book, but I wouldn’t say I loved it. I really enjoy the characters, the plot, the romance, the atmosphere. I don’t know if it’s because I read this book so close after finishing Kingdom of Ash, that I just didn’t love it as much as I could.


I can see why this book is so high on goodreads.


 

The fourth book is Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo 4.57 with 231219 ratings which I gave 4 stars to.


I hyped this book up so much, as I would say Six of Crows is one of my favourite books of all time, and I put Crooked Kingdom on such a high standard, it really was so impossible for it to live up. So this book was a disappointment for me hence the rating. But I loved the characters so much, I love the world, the writing, the atmosphere, and the plot. What I loved most about this book was so much depth that went into the characters and their backstories, we were able to see different sides to characters. It was amazing.


Yes, this book deserves the ratings it gets, but I am unsure whether it deserves more ratings than Six of Crows.


 

Kingdom of Ash by Sarah J. Maas 4.57 with 164740 ratings (5)


Kingdom of Ash is the last book in the throne of glass series and OMG this book broke me, in both bad and good ways. I still can’t after months of reading this to express why I love this book so much, it was perfection, it is over 900 pages and not once did I think this book was long. I think I have to say this is my favourite book of all time.


Yes, yes, yes this book deserves the high ratings it gets.


 

So the answer is yes, I do think these books deserve to be so high on Goodreads ratings.


Stay tuned for Saturday for the second part of this mini-series.


8 views
  • G
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok

Where to find me

Subscribe

Thanks for so much!

bs.JPG
ng.JPG

What I'm Currently Reading

Subscribe to get notice of updates

Thanks for subscribing!

  • G
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok
bottom of page