top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturebookishequestrian

Are They Worth the Lowest Rated Spots on Goodreads?

I had this idea for this mini-series of posts a while ago but I have never found space in the schedule for them to be able to be posted close together.


Today’s post is 5 lowest rated books on Goodreads that I have read in reason, and whether I feel like they are worth the hate they have gotten. Disclaimer these are my opinions and I respect if you disagree with mine.


 

First up is The Girl of Hawthorn and Glass by Adan Jerreat-Poole 2.82 with 455 ratings I gave 2 stars


I had an eARC of this, and I had a lot of problems with this book. You can see my full review if you would like. This book had a lot of promise but the execution was where it let me down. I enjoyed the characters, but the author’s writing style made it very hard for me to imagine what I was reading, it told you things instead of describing and letting you run with it. It was also very clunky. But as a result, did not enjoy my time reading it. I don’t know if the reason why I had so many problems with the book was down to the fact that this was the author’s debut or not.


Do I think it deserves the low ratings it gets? No, I don’t but I do understand why it has the ratings it does.

 

Second up is A Flood of Posies by Tiffany Meuret 2.91 with 44 ratings and I have this book 4 stars


I had requested an eARC of this and you can find a copy of my review ‘here,’ but I went into this book knowing it had a lot of low ratings, so I wasn’t excepting much, but I was pleasantly surprised by my enjoyment of the book. Meuret was able to craft a story that was creepy and realistic. It was a very sad book, with a few trigger warnings so be prepared, (there is domestic abuse and drug addiction and those are the ones I picked up on.) It was very different from what I normally read and very engaging, I couldn’t put the book down.


Do I think it deserves the hate? No, I don’t.


 

Third up is Spoiled Alicia by James Starvoice 3.00 with 8 ratings and I gave this book 4 stars


I had no idea what to expect going into this book, like seriously no clue, and I found this book hilarious, like laughing out loud, crying funny. It was a very character-driven book with not a lot of plot to it. I would be mindful that this books humour might not be for everyone, but it was a real fun lighthearted read.


Considering there are only a few ratings, I can see that it has an average rating but think it should be more hyped than it is.


 

Firth up is Heirs of the Frost by Daniel Greenbrook 3.14 with 7 ratings and I gave this 2 stars


I had so many problems with the book, the characters were bland and some were annoying. It was slow going when the premise made it sound like it would be faster paced. The pacing was all over the place and overall thought the book was lacking depth. It had potential but fell short for me.


Even though I don’t like saying this but I understand why this book is on this list.


 

Last up is The Vanishing by Michael Panckridge 3.20 with 44 ratings and I gave this 3 stars


I think I would have loved this book when I was younger, but I just didn’t have any feelings towards this book. Like there was nothing wrong with it but it was missing something that I think would have been there when I was younger.


I understand why this book has an average rating as it is how I felt about it.


 

Unlike the first post in this mini-series, there was a mixed bag of whether they would have been low on Goodreads. Hope you enjoyed this mini-series and let me know if you want other mini-series in the future.


1 view
  • G
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok

Where to find me

Subscribe

Thanks for so much!

bs.JPG
ng.JPG

What I'm Currently Reading

Subscribe to get notice of updates

Thanks for subscribing!

  • G
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok
bottom of page