top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturebookishequestrian

Dragon Rider by S. Rodman || Review

I received an eARC from the author, via BookSirens, this does not affect my opinion of the book, all my thoughts are my own and are honest.


Dragon Rider is the first book in the DragonKin trilogy, which is a MMM Paranormal Romance./


 

‘Dragons are real. I should not be so distracted by the men riding them. I’ve found myself in a hidden world of dragons and nightly battles to protect Earth, but while the dragons are magnificent magical creatures, and bonding with Ri and learning to fly is an exhilarating joy, other dragon riders are taking too much of my attention.


Mordecai is haunting my dreams and thoughts. He is a strikingly good looking man. Tall and lean with long blond hair and blue eyes that change shade with his emotions. But he is cruel, mocking and aloof. He lets no one close. I should leave him well alone.

Harlen is far nicer. He is friendly, takes an interest in me and smiles. His broad muscles and bronzed skin, together with his dark curls and copper eyes, give me butterflies.


When our bonded dragons mate, I know it affects us. A dragon’s passion is impossible to resist. But I’m shocked to discover which man is more dominant. And I’m awed by the awakening of my pleasure. Dragons aren’t the only things that are new to me. Exploring this side of my nature is divine.


But I can’t help hoping it is more than that.


In this strange new world of dragons, magic and desire, can I find my place? And can I find love?


Dragonrider is set in our modern world, one where dragons fly every night, you just can’t see them.


 

Where to start? This is like nothing I have read before and completely out of my normal, but I had a good time.


Kirby was an interesting main character to follow. His thought stream mirrored my own in the way he babbled on in his mind, which I have never experienced and wasn’t sure I was going to enjoy it. I read to get away from real life, but after I got used to it, it was entertaining, to say the least. It got more so when he bonded with his dragon Ri. Their banter and relationship were one of the things I liked reading about. I didn’t quite enjoy how he was infatuated and couldn’t seem to stop wanting to please Mordecai and then falling head over heels in love straight away. Everyone knows by now, I don’t enjoy instant love as a trope. But what made it manageable was how he bantered with himself on the fact he was acting like this.


Mordecai was unexpected, to say the least. You met him and thought he was something but as you read the book you discover and uncover his layers to realise he is completely different and by the end, I liked his character and how he was able to show his true colours. Harlen was truly a good time to read about and when you had the relationship dynamics it was explosive.


This was the first time I was reading a throuple and I wasn’t sure how I would feel about it, but I enjoyed it. The sex was fun to read especially the threesome scenes and I liked how the relationship didn’t work until they added the third person.


I felt everything wasn’t fleshed out enough. So even though I had a good time with this book, I needed the characters to be more fleshed out, the dragons other than Ri to have more personality and more history of the world. Even though I like the banter Kirby had with himself, the consistent pinning he had over the two love interests until the relationships happened wasn’t the easiest to read.


I will be picking up the next book in the series when it’s released. I do recommend this book if you want a quick paranormal romance that's fun, queer, poly and has a very very horny dragon.


3 ⭐️


Thank you to R.S. Rodman and BookSirens for approving me a copy.


 

Find S. Rodman Here -


Find DragonRider Here -




6 views

Recent Posts

See All
  • G
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok

Where to find me

Subscribe

Thanks for so much!

bs.JPG
ng.JPG

What I'm Currently Reading

Subscribe to get notice of updates

Thanks for subscribing!

  • G
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok
bottom of page