top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturebookishequestrian

The Search for Synergy by Brett Salter || Review

I received an eARC via the author, this does not affect my opinion of the book, all my thoughts are my own and are honest.


I wanted to say a huge apology to the author Brett Salter, for this review coming so late. I have had quite a few health problems and due to that I couldn’t read for a long period of time or wasn't able to post on my blog. But I really appreciate that I was given a copy of this book to review.


The Search For Synergy is the first book in a middle-grade series called The Talisman Series by Brett Salter. Here is its synopsis


‘The Search For Synergy follows the exploits of two middle-school boys, Rome Lockheed and Julian Rider, as they transition from normal kids into epic warriors fighting for the existence of the Earth realm. Rome is secretly a fire dragon from the Den of Volcana placed under a spell which hides his true form. Julian is an oddball, up-and-coming knight with a case of the "try-hards". Together, they perform an ancient pact that bonds their lives and souls forever. Under the tutelage and guidance of an eccentric, local librarian, Mr. Jones, the two learn of an impending invasion from an archaic evil desperate to invade from the other side of The Void.’


Rome was a fun main character to follow. As we were in his head we were able to experience his thoughts as the events transpired. His sas was very refreshing. Julian was very different to Rome, and seeing how their relationship grew throughout the novel was one of the best parts. You were able to really gauge how their bond grew and almost melded their personalities together in parts.


When Rome transitioned into the dragon, it was fun to see how his personality changed from his different forms. Like how werewolves can be different when in their different form. It was very easily shown and made the character of Rome all the more interesting to read from.


I wasn’t keen on Mr Jones at the start, but by the end, I liked how he was there for the boys. Having someone to show that dragons and knights can work together was a great way to learn from the past.


Salter was able to create a world and explain its history in a very simple but creative way, where it was easy to follow but no less exciting to learn about. This book was fast-paced, filled with magic and battles.


Middle grades are always interesting books for me to review. As I am thinking about what I liked and didn’t. I always make sure to look at them in the eyes of what I like in a middle grade now, and what I would have liked in a middle grade when I was the targeted demographic, and although I didn’t love the book now, I can definitely see it’s potential and see a lot of children loving it.


3 ⭐️


Thank you so much Brett Salter for the chance to review your novel.


 

Find Brett Salter Here -

Find The Search For Synergy Here -


8 views

Recent Posts

See All
  • G
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok

Where to find me

Subscribe

Thanks for so much!

bs.JPG
ng.JPG

What I'm Currently Reading

Subscribe to get notice of updates

Thanks for subscribing!

  • G
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok
bottom of page