top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturebookishequestrian

How I Came To Discover Skulduggery Pleasant

This is a very different post from what I normally post, but I thought it would be cool to do it, as I talk about the Skulduggery Pleasant series a lot on my blog.


I thought it was high time to talk about how I came to discover and love the series. The first book in the series cemented my love for reading and helped me through a lot of life problems.


 

To put it into context when I was younger I had a lot of anxiety and sleep insomnia. I would work myself up into a state before bed and wouldn’t be able to get to sleep, which increased my problem. It got to the breaking point when my parents went overseas and I didn’t cope at all.


We tried a lot of different things and none of them worked. But my mum and I, one night decided to try reading and the book that piqued my interest was no other than Skulduggery Pleasant.


So mum would read a few characters and I would listen and try to relax. It wasn’t a quick fix and I definitely still had problems sleeping but finally, I was able to relax enough that I could go to sleep. We would do that for however long it took me to relax and before we knew it we read through the first two books of the series. At that point, I couldn’t wait till night time to dip back into the world so I started reading by myself.


I still needed the reading nighttime sessions, but it got to the point where I didn’t need us reading for long periods of time and eventually I realised I didn’t need it at all. So that’s how I discovered Skulduggery and how he helped me with one of my biggest anxiety problems.


The books were full of adventure, sassy remarks, quirky humour, a cool magic system, unexpected betrayals, awesome characters that were so full of depth and a walking skeleton, what was there not to love.


In all honesty, it was a bad time in my life and it gave me an escape where people could be brave, have confidence and throw fire. And that’s what I needed at the time and still do today. Even though I have an emotional attachment to these books, as a book reviewer I do think they are great books and more people should give them a go.


 

Thanks for reading this post and sorry it was longer than I thought it would be. I hope to see you next time.


4 views
  • G
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok

Where to find me

Subscribe

Thanks for so much!

bs.JPG
ng.JPG

What I'm Currently Reading

Subscribe to get notice of updates

Thanks for subscribing!

  • G
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok
bottom of page