top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturebookishequestrian

My Favourite Books in 2020

Updated: Jan 5, 2021

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme that caught my eye. It was brought to you by That Artsy Reader Girl. It was previously hosted at The Broke and the Book. This week's theme is books I would like to reread.


Here is my favourite books in 2020. This excludes rereads, and I have only chosen one book from a series.


 

Number 10 - Dead of Night by Emily Goodwin


This book took me completely by surprise by the way I fell in love with the characters and how quickly I grew attached to them. I really liked the plot, the paranormal elements were done well, and the romance was hot and steamy without being too much of a quick burn for me.


 

Number 9 - Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin


I know there was a lot of mixed feelings towards this book, but I loved it. I found the characters very entertaining and loved their mixed personalities. The plot was really engaging and the atmosphere was well done, also the stakes felt really high too. I really hope the sequel doesn’t let me down.


 

Number 8 - Nevermoor by Jessica Townsend


The thing I loved the most about this book was definitely the characters and the world Townsend created. The characters were all quirky and had amazing personalities, and the world was so magical and realistic it was so fun to be in.


 

Number 7 - Nevernight by Jay Kristoff


I tried to read this last year but couldn’t get into it. I decided to listen to the audiobook while reading along and I was able to slip into this world so much more. The plot was amazing, the magic system was nothing I had read about and the characters were so fleshed out.


 

Number 6 - Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix


Now I do not in any way support this author, but I read the book way before everything happened with her, and Harry Potter was a huge part of my childhood that I can’t just stop loving it. The 5th movie is my least favourite book so I always put off reading this book because it was a very chunky book. But I loved it. It was by far the best book in the series.


 

Number 5 - Gargantis by Thomas Taylor


The Legends of Eerie on Sea series is fast becoming my favourite middle-grade series. It was so good to be back in this world with the characters, I just want to wrap Herbie up and protect him. This book had an amazing atmosphere, characters I loved and such a good mystery. It’s safe to say I loved it.


 

Number 4 - Assassin’s Quest by Robin Hobb


This was hard to choose between this book and the second in the series, but I think I enjoyed the plot more in this one. Hobb’s books are so in-depth with everything about them. The plot, the world-building and somehow she makes feel so strongly about the characters. This is my favourite adult series by far and I am so excited to move on in the realm of the Elderlings.


 

Number 3 - Dying of the Light by Derek Landy (Mild Spoiler)


It was so so hard to choose between this book and 2nd on my list, which would take the 3rd spot. One of my favourite things about this book was Ravel in pain. This book was spectacular. I don’t know what else to say without repeating myself every time I mention a book in the Skulduggery Pleasant series.


 

Number 2 - Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff


The was the most surprising book I read this whole year. I went into this thinking there was a high chance I would DNF it because of its format. But boy was I wrong. The characters were amazing, the plot was amazing, the book was so intense it had me sitting on the edge of my seat for most of it, it also had a scary element to it I did not expect.


 

Number 1 - Kingdom of Ash by Sarah. J. Maas


I honestly don’t have words to decide my love for this book and this series. All I’ll say is, it was almost 1000 pages long and I never once wanted to put it down and would have loved for it to go on for longer.


 

This was such a hard list to narrow down to 10 as I read so many amazing books and I am still not sure I am happy with a few on this list, but what is done is done I guess. What were your favourite books in 2020?


51 views
  • G
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok

Where to find me

Subscribe

Thanks for so much!

bs.JPG
ng.JPG

What I'm Currently Reading

Subscribe to get notice of updates

Thanks for subscribing!

  • G
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok
bottom of page