top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturebookishequestrian

The Worst Books in 2020

Here is my list of the worst books I read in 2020. There are a few on this list that surprised me at how much I disliked them.


 

Number 10 - Arthur High King of Britain by Michael Morpurgo


This was a really disappointing read, it was one of my first reads of the year and I just didn’t enjoy it. I didn’t like how the characters were portrayed, I felt like it wasn’t done well. The plot had nothing special or memorable about it.


 

Number 9 - The Girl The Sea Gave Back by Adrienne Young


This was so disappointing as The Sky In The Deep was one of my favourite books of 2019, but I just didn’t vibe with this book. I found until the last 50 pages it was very boring, the characters that were in the previous book were all very different and it just wasn’t a fun read for me.


 

Number 8 - Esio Trot by Roald Dahl


I don’t know what to say, the only thing that saved this book from being a one-star was the Tortoise, and it wasn’t even in the book that much. The message this book sent was not a good one.


 

Number 7 - Hating Alison Ashley by Robin Klein


I had a lot of problems with this book, the characters were very boring and insufferable. The plot was also really dull. This wasn’t a good read for me.


 

Number 6 - A Heart so Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kammerer


I’m sad I didn’t enjoy this book and had a lot of problems with it. I felt like the characters weren’t acting themselves as they were portrayed in the first book. I also felt like the whole situation could have been avoided if people had talked at the start.


 

Number 5 - Banshee Cry by Jen Katemi


The characters weren’t fleshed out and didn’t have any substance. The book was very dense to read, it also had a few tropes I personally don’t like reading about and I found the sex scene to be a bit cringy for me.


 

Number 4 - The Jellyfish Effect by Ufuk Ozden


The writing was very dense and sometimes I couldn’t understand what was happening. Sometimes it would change scenes or change thought very quickly and I couldn’t keep up. I would have to read back to make sure I hadn’t missed anything.


 

Number 3 - Giant Days Volume 1 by John Allison


The characters were so unrealistic it made me roll my eyes, they were also very annoying. I couldn’t follow the plot if there was a plot to follow and felt like it was a waste of time reading it.


 

Number 2 - The Lost Sisters by Holly Black


What can I say I hate Taryn so much and if this book was meant to make me sympathetic towards her it didn’t work.


 

Number 1 - The Twits by Roald Dahl


Now, this was a waste of time. I hated the characters, the plot and found the message that it was sending wasn’t a good one.


 

I’m sorry if I was too harsh in my opinions for some of these books, I just didn’t enjoy them whatsoever.


7 views
  • G
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok

Where to find me

Subscribe

Thanks for so much!

bs.JPG
ng.JPG

What I'm Currently Reading

Subscribe to get notice of updates

Thanks for subscribing!

  • G
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok
bottom of page