top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturebookishequestrian

April, May & June Wrap Up

Updated: Jul 18, 2021

I have not done a wrap up since my March Wrap Up. So we have 19 books to go through today.


 

April


Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia


This book was ok, I liked it but didn’t love it. I found it very hard to get into and when I did get into it, I just didn’t fall in love with it. It had a lot more themes in it than I thought it was, and the mystery element was the best part of it.


3 ⭐️

 

Bedlam by Derek Landy


This was a reread for me, and I liked it more than I did the first time I read it.


5 ⭐️



 

Sinful Boss by Vivian Wood


From what I can remember of this book the smut was ok, the characters weren’t my favourite and I found the plot to be very boring.


2 ⭐️


 

From Blood and Ash by Jennifer L. Armentrout


This was a good read, my favourite of the year up to this point. I found the world to be so intriguing, the characters were well thought out, I liked the little bit of smut that was in here, and the betrayals hurt. I am very excited to continue on with this series.


4 ⭐️


 

May Reads


Radiance by Grace Dravev


This took me completely by surprise. I picked this up for a buddy read, and to be honest, I wasn’t expecting anything out of it, but the synopsis was interesting we picked it up. The story of two people marrying for alliance had been done so often now, but Dravev was able to do it completely differently from the get-go. This was a slow burn but it showed one looks don’t matter and sometimes the best romances come from friendships first.


4 ⭐️


 

Faster than Lightning by Michael Panckridge and Pam Harvey


I picked this up a while ago for a readathon, but then it ended and I only picked it up when I was trying to complete some books I was in the middle of. I just don’t have any thoughts towards this book, it was an average read for me and one I just didn’t feel anything towards bad or good.


3 ⭐️


 

Dark Matter: Artificial by An Insecure Writer’s Support Group


This was a very interesting read, I have a review I’ll link where I talk about each story.


3 ⭐️


 

Seasons of War by Derek Landy


This was a reread and just can’t believe Landy went there, if you have read the book you will know. Like SERIOUSLY.


5 ⭐️


 

Apocalypse Kings by Derek Landy


This was just a novella, but it was a fun read and I enjoyed my time.


4 ⭐️


 

A Deal with the Elf King by Elise Kova


I really enjoyed the world Kova made, but I fell in love with the characters and all the angst that came with them. There were characters that were bad when you first met them but as you got to know them you released it wasn’t the real them. The only thing that brought this book down a little for me was that towards the end the main character was having a hard time accepting her feelings when to the reader it was very very obvious how she felt.


4 ⭐️



 

Straight, No Chaser by Nikki Belaire


I don’t have many thoughts towards this book either, this was an alright read for me, I didn’t hate it but didn’t love it and the smut was fine too.


3 ⭐️


 

June Reads


Lore by Alexandra Bracken


This took me by surprise, I loved this book. It had really relatable characters, a lot of angst, a great plot and mystery element, fighting and gods. I did not see the betrayal coming and it shocked me.


4 ⭐️


 

Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas


Wow, just wow. This book just blew me away. I loved everything about it. The characters, the rep, the plot, the atmosphere, the romance that was so beautiful. I just loved this book with my whole heart. And it was my first 5 star of the year, it only took me 6 months but it was worth it. This book was worth it.


5 ⭐️


 

Delivery to the Lost City by P.G. Bell


I would die for Wilmot, he is just the sweetest thing. I want to protect him and wrap him up in bubble wrap. The plot in this book wasn’t my favourite of the series, but I still loved it. It really is just a sweet and worthwhile series to read.


4 ⭐️


 

A Tangle of Spells by Michelle Harrison


It was weird not being in Crows Nest the whole time and wishing we got to see more spit, but this book was full of magic, courage, friendship and trust. I enjoyed it. The only thing was I could see the villain from the start and was a tad frustrating when the MC couldn’t.


3 ⭐️


 

Forest of Souls by Lori M. Lee


This had so much potential and I like this book, but I didn’t love it like I thought I would. I just don’t know if the book was able to follow through with its premise. But I will still pick up the sequel at some point as I am still intrigued.


3 ⭐️


 

Tilly and the Bookwanderers by Anna James


This book had so much potential but it fell flat for me, I found it to be repetitive which annoyed me, but that wasn’t the whole reason I didn’t like this book and I can’t tell why that is.


2 ⭐️


 

A Court of Silver Flames by Sarah J. Maas


OMG this was amazing, I loved every page of reading it. The smut was amazing, the character growth was amazing, the friendships formed was amazing, the relationship between Nesta and Cassian was amazing. I loved this book so much.


5 ⭐️


 

Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall


This was an ok read for me, I just don’t have anything to say about it, it was fine but that's it.


3 ⭐️


 

That is it for my multiple months wrap up. I am hoping my reading keeps going like June and I get a few more 5 star reads I can add to my favourites.


6 views

Recent Posts

See All
  • G
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok

Where to find me

Subscribe

Thanks for so much!

bs.JPG
ng.JPG

What I'm Currently Reading

Subscribe to get notice of updates

Thanks for subscribing!

  • G
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok
bottom of page