top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturebookishequestrian

January & February Wrap Up

I fell into a reading slump at the end of December after I read The House In The Cerulean Sea and fell into a book hangover, which I am still trying to get out of.


 

January I read 5 books.


Heirs of Frost by Daniel Greenbrook


There were a lot of things that I didn’t like with the book and it was not a good book to start off the new year. It lacked depth in a lot of areas. I didn’t like some of the characters and found it to be overall very underwhelming and a bit boring.



2 stars


 

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan


This was a reread for me and I really didn’t remember anything about it except what I remembered from the movie. This was overall good, it was fast-paced and didn’t lack excitement. I wish that it had gone into more detail though which was the biggest let down for me.


3 stars


 

The Perfect Fit by D. Lilac


The main problem I had with this book was that I didn’t have any feelings towards it. This book did have a trope in here that I am realising that I don’t like which did let it down for me a lot. This book did fight against society’s views on life which I liked.



2 stars


 

Armageddon Outta Here by Derek Landy


This was a reread and I loved it. I’m not sure what else I can say at this point I talk about The Skulduggery Pleasant series so often there isn’t anything else I can add.


 

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo


This was a very long time coming. It was a very good book but like Gemina, I hyped it up too much that it had to live up to impossible odds. What I loved the most about this book were the character depth and backstories we got. The characters were deep but Bardugo was able to add to that depth.


4 stars


 

February I read 9 books and had 1 DNF



Of Wicked Blood by Olivia Wildenstein & Katie Hayoz


I really enjoyed my time reading this book, but the ending let it down so much for me that it dropped the rating. The ending was rushed. What I did like was the romance between the two main characters, the book was intriguing, it was set in a modern world but the town it was based in didn’t feel modern.



3 stars


 

Explorers on Black Ice Bridge by Alex Bell


This was a fun read. It was entertaining, it had me on the edge of my seat a couple of times, it was atmospheric and I love the characters. I love the magic system and the character growth.


4 stars


 

The Gatekeeper of Pericael by Hayley Reese Chow


The magic system in this book was so complex and hard to keep up with, the characters too were complex and all had different personalities, which made it a fun time when they interacted with each other. But the main problem resolved too quickly when the build-up was done so well, which was disappointing.


Full review will be coming in April


3 stars


 

The Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks


This was a big disappointment for me. I went into this thinking this was a very heavy romance book, which it kinda was but not in the way I thought. The two different stories were interesting, but at times I was a bit bored and disappointed at different things that happened in the book.


2 stars


 

The Castle of Tangled Magic


I enjoyed my time reading this book. It was heartwarming and had these amazing magical creatures. Small spoiler, ish, but I love in a book there is a character you think is the villain only to turn out not to be one.


3 stars


 

Project Mothership by Ash Gray


This was a weird book. I enjoyed parts of it and didn’t take it too seriously which helped with my enjoyment of it. But there were a few questionable decisions that made me wonder why the author would do that.


2 stars



 

Kodi by Jared Cullum


This was a heartwarming read and made me tear up a bit. The message this book was trying to tell was great and I loved it.


4 stars


 

Resurrection by Derek Landy


The introduction of a lot of new characters, good and bad was great. I loved my reread.


5 stars


 

The Language of Thorns by Leigh Bardugo


This was a fun read, I really liked the stories that were in here, but as the book went on, I found the story tale like writing style wasn’t my favourite.


3 stars

 

Bell Hammers by Lancelot Schaubert


I was given this by the author for review but unfortunately, I wasn’t able to finish it. This means I won’t give a full review of it. I couldn’t get into the book, I didn’t gel with the writing style and found the plot not to be to my liking.


DNFed


5 views

Recent Posts

See All
  • G
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok

Where to find me

Subscribe

Thanks for so much!

bs.JPG
ng.JPG

What I'm Currently Reading

Subscribe to get notice of updates

Thanks for subscribing!

  • G
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok
bottom of page