top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturebookishequestrian

Dark by Kat Kinney || Review

I was kindly given an ecopy from the author, for review, that doesn’t affect my opinion of the book, all my thoughts are my own and honest.


But when Hayden Crowe shows up on Ethan Caldwell’s doorstep, a newly changed werewolf and in danger, Ethan defies his father’s orders to stay away. Someone in the paranormal community is hunting her, and hell if he’s going to fail her again.


When Hayden’s world comes crashing down around her, she has to turn to the boy who broke her heart three years ago. Someone is hunting her and she can’t risk hurting the people she loves. Dark is a paranormal romance about two people who both have to overcome their trauma if they want to be together. Dark is the first book in the Blood Moon, Texas Shifters series, Crave the second book has just come out.


I liked the two main characters. Hayden was this emo, strong-willed main character that didn’t want her heart broken again, she is very close to her sister and would do anything for her. Ethan has a lot of childhood trauma that affects his ability to have relationships, but he wants to try for Hayden. They had depth to them and we got to see Ethan’s childhood through flashback scenes, but I do wish we got more on Hayden’s backstory.


The plot was fast-paced and engaging, it also had a good mystery element to it. Kinney did a good job making sure we knew and understood the lore around the shifters and vampires, which I appreciated.


One of my favourite elements of the book was the romance between Hayden and Ethan, I really enjoyed the development between them, and I thought they suited each other very well. But I find that sometimes a character would say something, and then in the next chapter they would do the opposite, which didn’t confuse me per say but it did make it feel like there were inconsistencies throughout the book.


Sometimes when it went into a flashback scene in the middle of the chapter it was hard to tell when the flashback started. I would almost get a bit lost and have to backtrack to make sure I hadn’t missed anything. This only happened a few times throughout the book though.


I felt like the ending wrapped up too quickly and it could have been stretched further out and the book would have been benefited if the book was a bit longer. What I did really appreciated was that fact Kinney was able to set up for the next book in the series, (which is not following Hayden and Ethan), and what the main problem will be without being obvious, it’s only as I have read the synopsis for the next book was I able to pick it up.


Overall I enjoyed my time reading Dark, but as there were a few technical issues I had with it my rating is a 3 star. I would still recommend if you are looking for a face-paced paranormal romance with good lore and a good romance.


Thank you, Kat Kinney, for the chance to review this book.


3 ⭐️


 

Find Kat Kinney here



Find Dark here


AMAZON -


GOODREADS -

2 views

Recent Posts

See All
  • G
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok

Where to find me

Subscribe

Thanks for so much!

bs.JPG
ng.JPG

What I'm Currently Reading

Subscribe to get notice of updates

Thanks for subscribing!

  • G
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok
bottom of page