top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturebookishequestrian

Sisters of the Coven by Amelia Shaw || Review

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the author via Voracious Readers & Booksprout, to review. This doesn’t affect my opinion of the book, all my thoughts are my own and are honest.


Her mother’s death unleashes her biggest secret…the secret that could destroy them all.


When Ava’s mother passes away, Ava and her sister’s whole life go with her. Left with only the clothes on their backs, it is up to Ava to look after them. Ava decides to go find their Father, the High Warlock and meet him for the first time.


Ava was a relatable character in the way she thinks and acts. She was a typical girl thrown into a world she knew nothing about and really doesn’t know who to trust. I did find it annoying the way she didn’t take seriously what the consequences would be if something happened, and she was still surprised when it came to pass. (I really can’t go into detail because of spoilers).


I found this book to be really slow at the start and it didn’t keep my interest, but it improved around the halfway mark for me. When we were introduced to the love interest, it was a very insta lust situation, but I didn’t mind it, I found that although it was insta it didn’t feel rushed to me. The character, in general, intrigued me and I enjoyed his personality, the small bit we saw of it.


The plot really didn’t have me interested at all until the halfway mark where it picked up a lot and became more exciting. It also felt like the stakes were climbing.


Overall it was a good first book in a series. I look forward to seeing more of Ava and her love interest and how their relationship develops more. I would recommend this book to people who love absent parent storylines and misunderstood brooding, scary-looking males.


Thank you, Amelia Shaw, for the chance to review your book.


3 ⭐️


Published on March the 1st 2020


 

Find Amelia Shaw here



Find Sisters of the Coven here







4 views

Recent Posts

See All
  • G
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok

Where to find me

Subscribe

Thanks for so much!

bs.JPG
ng.JPG

What I'm Currently Reading

Subscribe to get notice of updates

Thanks for subscribing!

  • G
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok
bottom of page