top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturebookishequestrian

Where Dreams Descend by Janella Angeles || Review

I received an ARC from Netgalley, that doesn’t affect my opinion of the book, all my thoughts are my own and honest.


In a city covered in ice and ruin, a group of magicians face off in a daring game of magical feats to find the next headliner of the Conquering Circus.


In a world where magic is both celebrated and feared, a city off the map decides to host a competition for a group of magicians to save their city, only to find there’s danger striking behind the scenes.


Where Dreams Descend follows Kallia, a competitor, who is out to prove she’s the best, Demarco a judge, who has a dark past and Jack the mysterious Master.


Everyone in this book had their secrets, they were all hiding from different things that made you want to keep reading to find out what they were.


Kallia is a very good protagonist follow. I think she could definitely teach us to be true to ourselves and not let anyone tell us what to do. She is strong, stubborn and didn’t let the world around her stop her from being the best. She also had this vulnerable side to her that showed us she was human and did have flaws. She goes out on a journey and finds a few things she wasn’t looking for.


Demarco was fun to follow, he started out very broody but you watched him start to loosen up and start to live again. Something happened in his past that changed him and even after all this time, he is still having trouble coping with that happened.


We didn’t follow Jack too much, but I looked forward to seeing his perspective. He had a lot of secrets, but you could see he did care for Kallia and wanted to help her.


I loved watching the slow burn romance throughout this book, I felt like it was very well done and they suited each other. They accepted each other for all their flaws.


It was beautifully written, very lyrical and just pretty. But that made it a slow book to get into and throughout the middle, but I felt like it was worth it. The atmosphere was well done and I really enjoyed watching the secrets unfold around the characters.


I really enjoyed the book and need the sequel because of that cliffhanger. Wow I didn’t see it coming. I would love to hear more from Jack’s POV in the next book, but we will see.


4⭐️


Thank you to NetGalley, Janella Angeles and the publishers for approving me a copy.


Where Dreams Descend comes out on the 25th of August.

 


 

Find Janella Angeles here




Find Where Dreams Descend here




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • G
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok

Where to find me

Subscribe

Thanks for so much!

bs.JPG
ng.JPG

What I'm Currently Reading

Subscribe to get notice of updates

Thanks for subscribing!

  • G
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok
bottom of page