top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturebookishequestrian

My Non Bookish Hobbies

Updated: Nov 21, 2020

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme that caught my eye. It was brought to you by That Artsy Reader Girl. It was previously hosted at The Broke and the Book.


So honestly I don’t have many hobbies that aren’t to do with books, and since I have post-concussion syndrome, I haven’t been able to follow my main hobby which is equestrian.


 

Equestrian


I have been riding horses for as long as I can remember, and it has always been in my life, even when I wasn’t able to ride. It’s my life and it has been really hard not being able to ride this year, I also don’t have a timeframe in which I can sit back on a horse again. Unfortunately, I can only be around them from afar but not too close because of the risk of hitting my head again.


Other than just riding them out on the farm and caring for them I compete in an equestrian sport called eventing which involves three phases. The first phase is dressage which is the base to the other two stages, it involves a series of movements that you need to remember. It helps build the horses strength and balance that is needed in the other phases.


XC (Cross Country) My favourite phase. You go around a course out in the open jumping over different types of non-moveable fences. I love the adrenaline rush I get, but also it's just you and the horse. This is to show the horses endurance and how brave the horse is, as you are going over solid fences and some appear huge at the gallop.


During the Show Jumping phase, you go around a course of jumps with poles, in an arena, the poles can get knocked down. This shows how much ability, agility and stamina the horse has. Sometimes this phase can be really hard because you have to get the striding into the jumps right as they can fall down.


 

Photography


I love taking photos of nature and animals, I feel like I manage to capture the animal’s emotions. I also take photos of other horse riders at events. I love being able to give people their photos that I took so they have memories of the events. I also like being the person behind the camera so that I am sort of invisible when I’m anxious.



 

Knitting


Knitting gives me something to do if I am ever bored when I watch movies or TV shows with my family that I have already seen, I like pulling out my project and multitasking, and when I listen to audiobooks.



 

Card/board games


My Dad has Alzheimer’s so we try to play a board or card game with him every day to help get his brain to be active, it’s a good way for Dad to be able to feel like he’s included and doing something by himself as there are a lot of activities that he can’t do now by himself.



 

Watching TV with the family



Again since there’s a lot Dad can’t do we try to sit down and watch a TV show Series or movie so we spend time together. It’s nice spending time with them, even if we don’t talk because we don’t know how long it will take for Dad to not be able to appreciate it.


 

Snuggling with Oska


Since there’s not a lot I can do this year with my PCS snuggling with my dog Oska has become a hobby. We snuggle and listen to music, or I read curled up next to him, he really has helped this year always being there when I need it.


 

So there are all the hobbies I have that aren’t including something to do with books or reading. I hope you enjoyed and had fun learning a bit about me outside of my reading.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • G
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok

Where to find me

Subscribe

Thanks for so much!

bs.JPG
ng.JPG

What I'm Currently Reading

Subscribe to get notice of updates

Thanks for subscribing!

  • G
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok
bottom of page